Mission Statement

Our mission is to promote the mental wellness of our region and enhance the lives of all individuals impacted by mental illness through community collaboration, education, and advocacy.

Strategic Priorities and Goals

  • Scan the local environment of mental health services, strengths, needs and gaps
  • Prioritize unmet needs and identify adequately and under-served areas
  • Facilitate solutions by identifying opportunities for MHA or partners to fill unmet needs
  • Assess MHA’s programs in light of the community’s services, strengths, needs, and gaps

We believe that mental health conditions should be treated long before they reach the most critical points

Organization History

Mental Health America of Southeast Texas is a 501(c)3, non-profit organization and an affiliate of Mental Health America, the nation’s leading community-based nonprofit dedicated to addressing the needs of those living with mental illness and promoting the overall mental health of all people. The roots of our local organization trace back to 1942, when a progressive group of concerned citizens organized the Beaumont Mental Hygiene Society, which was later renamed in 1951 as the Beaumont Society for Mental Health. In 1960, this organization was incorporated as the Beaumont Association for Mental Health and later renamed to Mental Health America of Southeast Texas.

MHA National was established in 1909 by former psychiatric patient Clifford W. Beers. During his stays in public and private institutions, Beers witnessed and was subjected to horrible abuse. From these experiences, Beers set into motion a reform movement that took shape as Mental Health America. MHA’s work is driven by a commitment to promote mental health as a critical part of overall wellness, including prevention services for all; early identification and intervention for those at risk; integrated care, services, and supports for those who need it; with recovery as the goal.

Board Members

Kim Phelan


Shelley Tortorice

Vice President

Toni Mulvaney


Gary Hidalgo


Jennifer Barroeta

Board Member

Rev. Dr. James Fuller

Board Member

Allison Gilbert

Board Member

Most Rev. Curtis Guillory

Board Member

Mark Kubala, MD

Board Member

Vernice Monroe

Board Member

Regina Rogers

Board Member